Foundation Honors Recipients of Annual Scholarship Awards

(Greenwood, S.C., June 27, 2024) – On June 4th, the Self Regional Healthcare Foundation held its annual scholarship breakfast and awarded four recipients.

The Mary Ella Ruff Scholarship started in honor of one of Self Regional Healthcare’s finest and most beloved nurses, Mary Ella Ruff. Mary Ella began her career at the old Greenwood Hospital in March 1947 and made her transition to the new building when it opened in 1951. Miss Ruff retired in 1975 after working for Self Regional for 35 years. 

The Foundation has a Mary Ella Ruff Scholarship Committee consisting of: Anne Magruder, Dr. John Eichelberger, Ellen Rhodes, and Faye Reighley. 

The Committee awarded $1,000 scholarships to Briana Felter, LeeAnna Fingerlin, Katie Willis, and Tressa Rhoades.

The Charlotte Blackwell Memorial Nursing Scholarship is in memory of Charlotte, a young and much-loved ICU nurse who was taken from us in 2005. 

The Foundation has a Charlotte Blackwell Memorial Scholarship Committee consisting of: Kaye Brock, Retired Director of Nursing, Jackie Thornton, Retired Director of ICU/CCU, and John Paguntalan, Nurse Practitioner. 

The Committee awarded $1,000 scholarships to Briana Felter, LeeAnna Fingerlin, and Tressa Rhoades.

For more information, contact the Self Regional Healthcare Foundation at (864) 725-4256.

About Self Regional Healthcare Foundation:

Self Regional Healthcare Foundation is a 501 c (3), not for profit organization ( that funds health-related programs and projects at Self Regional Healthcare (, a not-for-profit, regional referral hospital that provides care to residents of Greenwood, Abbeville, Laurens, Saluda, McCormick, Edgefield and Newberry counties. Services include prevention and wellness, acute care and tertiary care services including cancer care, neurosurgery, heart and vascular surgery, NICU, orthopedics and genetics.